California Insurance Information & Services


Welcome to the one and only home of lane-splitting! You may ride between lanes to escape traffic in California.  

That’s right- lane splitting is legal for California motorcyclists when traffic is moving 30 mph or less, and so long as the rider is not riding in excess of 10 mph over those vehicles on either side of them. * 

This could be why motorcycle deaths in California have been on the rise since the year 2000.  

As with other states, California motorcyclists are required to keep just as much bodily injury and property damage liability insurance coverage on their scooters, cruisers, and choppers as on their work trucks.  

We offer free quotes on California motorcycle insurance policies, and the lowest rates on comprehensive, collision, and liability coverage.


Liability Motorcycle Insurance: California Minimum Insurance Requirements 

The following minimum liability limits must be satisfied by your motorcycle liability insurance in order for you to be sufficiently protected. All of our motorcycle liability insurance policies satisfy these state requirements. 

The minimum liability limits for the state of California are as follows: 

  • $15,000 for personal injury liability for injuries to a single person in an accident

  • $30,000 for personal injury liability for injuries to any number of people resulting from a single accident 

  • $5,000 of property damage liability coverage for a single accident. 

These minimum motorcycle insurance limits do not offer any protection for the policy holder against medical bills or property damage resulting from accidents your fault or otherwise. Liability auto insurance and liability motorcycle insurance never offer protection to the policy holder against paying for repairs or medical bills. 

If you are interested in motorcycle insurance that provides a greater degree of protection than the minimum liability policy, then our full coverage motorcycle insurance options are probably for you. Click on the link below to visit the full coverage motorcycle insurance page.


Do I Need California Liability Insurance?

 Some states, including California offer some alternatives to purchasing a liability insurance policy when you decide to start driving.

Financial Responsibility Options

There are four ways to accomplish financial responsibility:

  1. Coverage by a motor vehicle or automobile liability insurance policy;
  2. A cash deposit of $35,000 with the DMV;
  3. A certificate of self-insurance issued by DMV to owners of fleets of more than 25 vehicles; or
  4. A surety bond for $35,000 obtained from an insurance company licensed to do business in California.

All California drivers and owners must have at least the statutory limits of minimum liability insurance or an approved alternative way to pay for injury or property damage they may cause.* Penalties are very severe for non-compliance with this section of the vehicle code.

The above excerpt was taken from the California Department of Insurance website.


Other Motorcycle Insurance Coverage Options

  • Collision

  • Comprehensive

  • Full Coverage

  • Personal Effects

  • Classic, Vintage, Collectible, and Antique Motorcycle Coverage Options

For more information on the ins and outs of California motorcycle insurance, you can refer to the Insurance Department of California's website at http://www.insurance.ca.gov/

 California is also home to a state program which helps consumers who are having trouble claiming benefits from their auto insurance company. There is a a supplemental document available at the site which details the program, called the Automobile Claims Mediation Program.

 If you need more information on California motorcycle insurance policies and motorcycle coverage options, please call for immediate assistance. 





Operators are standing by to take your call, give you reliable motorcycle insurance information, and provide you with free motorcycle insurance quotes instantly over the phone.