1-800-771-7758

1-800-771-7758

Florida Motorcycle Insurance  

Florida does not require it's motorcyclists to prove their financial responsibility before they are allowed to register their two-wheeled vehicles. This coupled with the state's lack of a helmet law makes for some dangerous riding in the state. 

Whether or not the state requires it, obtaining proof of financial responsibility for your motorcycle, moped, or chopper should absolutely be considered necessary in the state of Florida. If it is legal to register a motorcycle without insurance, you can bet that there are Florida motorcyclists operating bikes without insurance, and that means a great deal of risk if you share the road with them. 

There are several means of proving financial responsibility for a motorcycle in Florida where personal injury protection is not available on vehicles with less than 4 wheels.

 

1-800-771-7758


 

No-Fault Coverage

 

The state also enforces a No-Fault Law by which you might need to abide. No-fault insurance covers incidents in which no collision occurs, and includes:

  • $10,000 per person/crash in personal injury protection
  • $10,000 per crash in property damage liability

Types of Two-Wheeled Vehicles

There are several different classifications of motorcycles. The criteria by which these classifications are determined varies from state to state. The rules for the Florida motorcycle classifications are as follows. if you still have questions about what type of motorcycle you're riding or how much insurance would be required you can contact us at 1-800-771-7758 and we will connect you with a knowledgeable and courteous insurance agent who can help you understand and buy affordable motorcycle insurance to protect you from an accident in as little as ten minutes over the phone. 

  • Motorcycle For all intensive purposes this type of vehicle is defined by it's engine displacement of 50ccs or greater. Florida considers these vehicles motorcycles and requires that they be registered.
  • Mopeds Your vehicle is a moped if it has:
    • Three or fewer wheels
    • A seat
    • Pedals that allow you to propel the vehicle
    • A motor of two-brake horsepower or less
    • The ability to go no faster than 30 mph
    • An Automatic power-drive system
    • A displacement of 50 cc or less (if it has an internal combustion engine)
  • Scooters Your vehicle is a scooter if it has:
    • No seat or saddle
    • three or fewer wheels
    • The ability to go no faster than 30 mph

How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements

Motorcyclists who are at least 21 years old and carry at least $10,000 in medical insurance coverage aren't obligated to wear helmets while operating their motorcycles.

Every motorcyclist is required to wear eye protection however- unless the motorcycle has a windshield.

 



Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility

 

If you own a motorcycle or moped these are the ways to demonstrate your financial responsibility to the authorities. Proving your financial responsibility despite the lack of a state statute making liability insurance mandatory will save you from a desperate and stressful situation if you were to have an accident. 

  • Purchase liability insurance coverage from an insurance carrier or agency licensed to do business in Florida like the SkyBlue Insurance Agency Inc. : This is the most common way to establish financial responsibility for any vehicle.
  • Get a Financial Responsibility Certificate from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility. This option requires that you first either:
    • Post a surety bond with a state-licensed bond company.
    • Deposit cash or securities with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).
  • Obtain a Self-Insurance Certificate from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility (BFR): Only those who have acquired enough capital in the form of either financial assets or a required number of vehicles to meet a specific state minimum (such as 25 vehicles in Colorado).

The procedures associated with each of these options other than the basic liability insurance policy are complicated, and you should contact the DHSMV before attempting any of them. 

 

Insurance Requirements

It's a good idea to use the state’s minimum liability coverage requirements for cars as a guideline for how much motorcycle insurance to get:

  • $10,000 for one person in bodily injury liability
  • $20,000 for two or more people in bodily injury liability
  • $10,000 per crash in property damage liability
  • $30,000 in combined single limits

These limits only provide a minimum amount of protection however, and a more comprehensive motorcycle insurance policy must be purchased if you wish to have protection from property damage and excessive medical bills in the event of a serious motorcycle accident.