1-800-771-7758

1-800-771-7758

Virginia





All Virginia motorcyclists are required to purchase at least the state minimum liability motorcycle insurance for their bikes in order to purchase license plates and drive legally. Motorcyclists or other OHV owners who do not wish to purchase Virginia motorcycle insurance reserve the right to assume their own financial responsibility for an accident, by paying the uninsured motor vehicle fee





 

Drivers and riders must prove financial responsibility for any  Virginia OHV or ATV prior to being issued license plates and driving their vehicles on public roads. Posting of surety bonds, cash, or securities with state officials is a valid option for proof of financial responsibility, but not for personal and private passenger vehicles. 

These insurance requirements apply to all vehicles being operated on public roadways by licensed motorcyclists including antique vehicles like classic and collectible cars and vintage motorcycles. 

We are licensed and authorized to sell Virginia motorcyclists insurance policies. Your insurance agency must be authorized to conduct business in Virginia.

 

Virginia Liability motorcycleInsurance Requirements

These are the minimum liability limits for any financial responsibility insurance policy sold in Virginia. In other words, if your Virginia car insurance doesn’t provide at least the following benefit amounts, then you don’t have enough insurance. 

  • Bodily injury/death of one person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury/death of two or more persons: $50,000
  • Property damage: $20,000 

Virginia motorcycle insurance companies may factor the driving records of every person of legal age to drive into their monthly premium quote. Teens, newly licensed motorcyclists, and motorcyclists whose licenses have recently been reinstated can greatly increase the cost of your monthly premiums. Call 1-800-771-7758 today to learn more about how you can save money on car insurance policies for everyone in your home. 

If you lose your liability insurance coverage on a vehicle while it is still registered, You must reinsure the vehicle, surrender the license plates to DMV, or pay a UMV fee for driving an uninsured vehicle.

 

What If I Would Rather Assume My Own Risk? 

You may pay the $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) fee. 

This fee is not applied towards damages or medical bills caused by collisions; Rather it is a small fee you pay to the state in order to assume full financial and legal responsibility for your own actions while driving your vehicle. The $500 dollar UMV fee goes directly to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and does not provide any insurance. Paying the UMV fee will allow you to drive an uninsured vehicle at your own risk. It expires with your registration and must be paid at renewal. 

Self-insurance or Surety Bonds are also acceptable means of proving financial responsibility, but as previously stated, private passenger vehicles must purchase insurance. 

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance

Virginia vehicle owners who haven’t paid the required UMV fee for driving without insurance and get caught without car insurance, will have their driving and vehicle registration privileges suspended. They are required to then pay a $500 statutory fee in order to have those privileges reinstated. They must also file an SR-22 Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate with the Virginia DMV for a period of at least three years, in addition to paying a possible reinstatement fee.

 

Verification of Insurance Coverage

Insured Virginia motorcyclists are lucky enough to have the Virginia DMV monitor insurance coverage through the Insurance Verification Program. 

Insurance carriers throughout virginia will provide your local DMV with electronic updates of cancellations, policy additions, and lapses of motorcyclists insurance on any motor vehicle registered in Virginia. 

DMV verifies that motor vehicles are properly insured by comparing vehicle registration information on file at DMV with liability information transmitted by insurance carriers. When no insurance is found, the motor vehicle owner is required to furnish policy information to DMV for verification. 

If you have received an Insurance Verification Inquiry letter from DMV requesting information about your insurance policy, you may submit that information online.